Baeksang Arts Award is the Korean equivalent of Golden Globe Award. The award was established by Chang Key Young who was the founding father of Hankook Ilbo Newspaper whose pen name was “Baeksang.” The Award is considered an outstanding honour achievements in the south Korean entertainment industry. Since 1965, The Award was held annually in April or May which coordinated under IS PLUS Corp.

This year is the 53rd Baeksang Arts Awards that were held on May 3 2017. All the biggest and brightest star of Korean Entertainment is participating in this prestigious award ceremony which took concept “healing,” with message toward hoping everyone to forget the painful times in the past and start again.

As predicted, big movies and popular drama is winning almost every category in the award ceremony. Best movie of the year goes to thriller horror which create a sensation wake toward Korean viewer, “The Wailing”. Gong Yoo won the best drama actor for his dazzling performance on “Goblin”, but unfortunately “Goblin” failed to win in Best TV drama category which went to tvN’s Drama “Dear My friends

Here are the lists of the winner of 53rd Baeksang Art Awards, Congrats !

Movie Categories:


Grand Award – Park Chan Wook for “The Handmaiden”

Best Film – “The Wailing”

Best Director -Kim Ji Woon for “The Age of Shadows”

Best New Director – Yeon Sang Ho for “Train to Busan”

Best Actor – Song Kang Ho for “The Age of Shadows”

Best Actress – Son Ye Jin for “The Last Princess”

Best Supporting Actor – Kim Ui Sung for “Train to Busan”

Best Supporting Actress -Kim So Jin for “The King”

Best New Actor – Ryu Jun Yeol for “The King”

Best New Actress – Lee Sang Hee for “Our Love Story”

Best Screenplay – Yoon Ga Eun for “The World of Us”

Male Popularity Award – Do Kyung Soo (EXO’s D.O.) for “My Annoying Brother”

Female Popularity Award – YoonA (Girls’ Generation) for “Confidential Assignment”


Television Categories:


Grand Award – Kim Eun Sook for “Goblin”

Best TV Drama – tvN’s “Dear My Friends”

Best Entertainment Program – SBS’s “My Ugly Duckling”

Best Educational/Cultural Show – JTBC’s “War of Words”

Best Director – Yoo In Sik for “Romantic Doctor Kim”

Best Actor – Gong Yoo for “Goblin”

Best Actress – Seo Hyun Jin for “Another Oh Hae Young”

Best New Actor – Kim Min Suk for “Doctors”

Best New Actress – Lee Se Young for “Laurel Tree Tailors”

Best Screenplay – No Hee Kyung for “Dear My Friends”

Best Variety Star (Male) – Yang Se Hyung for “Moby Dick Yang Se Hyung’s Short-erview”

Best Variety Star (Female) – Park Na Rae for “I Live Alone”

Male Popularity Award – Park Bo Gum for “Moonlight Drawn by Clouds”

Female Popularity Award – Kim Yoo Jung for “Moonlight Drawn by Clouds”

Best Style Award – Kim Ha Neul for “On the Way to the Airport”

Lifetime Achievement Award – Kim Young Ae





Source: [1]